Arcade Fire played a surprise show in New York last night (14 March).

The Canadians were in town to do a live Q&A with director Spike Jonze at the Gramercy Theatre, as part of Spotify’s ‘Fans First’ series, ‘A Conversation With’.

They used the occasion to premiere their ‘Money + Love’ double video – for  ‘Everything Now‘ tracks, ‘Put Your Money On Me’ and ‘We Don’t Deserve Love’ – but after the Q&A and screening, the band took to the stage to play a surprise 15-song set.

Billboard reports that: “As the film comes to a close and the end credits roll, the music to ‘Everything Now’ suddenly booms out from the speakers. It was all too clear what would come next. The curtain drops, and there stands Arcade Fire in all its live glory.

“The band dove into ‘Rebellion (Lies)’ next, which prompted Jonze and Wilson to enthusiastically dance around on stage.”

The band played fan favourite ‘(Antichrist Television Blues)’, which was their first live performance of it since 2008.

They finished with an encore of a cover of John Lennon‘s ‘Mind Games’, which included snippets from Radiohead‘s ‘Karma Police’  and David Bowie‘s ‘Oh! You Pretty Things’ before ending with ‘Wake Up’, from 2004 LP, ‘Funeral’.

Arcade Fire’s Gramercy Theatre setlist was:

  1. Everything Now
  2. Rebellion (Lies)
  3. Headlights Look Like Diamonds
  4. Afterlife
  5. Keep the Car Running
  6. (Antichrist Television Blues)
  7. Electric Blue
  8. Sprawl II (Mountains Beyond Mountains)
  9. Put Your Money on Me
  10. We Exist
  11. Creature Comfort
  12. We Don’t Deserve Love
  13. Everything Now (Continued)
  14. Mind Games (John Lennon cover) (w/ Radiohead’s ‘Karma Police’ and David Bowie’s ‘Oh! You Pretty Things’ snippets)
  15.  Wake Up